Waldo County Fund

Total applications received this grant cycle: 14 applications for a total of $75,848
Grant dollars awarded: $38,748
Average award: $4,305
Percentage of applicants that received grants: 64
Number of grants awarded: 9
Application deadline: February 15

Recent grants from the Waldo County Fund

Photo: Current and former members of the Waldo County Committee  include, from left: Jon Thurston, Molly Schauffler, Jean English, Chip Curry, Brenda Harrington, Martha Piscuskas, Sara Trunzo, Kevin Johnson, Betty Schopmeyer, and Mary Leaming.

Launched in 1990 when Waldo County was the poorest county in New England, the Waldo County Fund provides permanent support to nonprofits in the region. Overseen by an advisory committee of local community leaders who partner with the foundation to build charitable resources, the Waldo County Fund has awarded more than 140 grants since 1992.

The Maine Community Foundation manages the Waldo County Fund, and local leaders, knowledgeable about their communities, help review grant applications and distribute funding.

Other ways the community foundation is serving the region

  • In addition to the Waldo County Fund, the community foundation currently holds more than $4.5 million in assets dedicated to Waldo County in the form of donor-advised funds, scholarships, designated funds to support specific organizations, and field-of-interest funds.
  • Since 2002, more than $156,000 in additional grant support for projects serving Waldo County has come from a network of Maine Community Foundation donors in support of proposals submitted to the foundation’s competitive grant programs.
  • Waldo County Scholarships
  • The community foundation manages more than $1.8 million in charitable long-term funds on behalf of other nonprofit organizations throughout Waldo County.

To make a donation or for more information about the Waldo County Fund

Please contact Cathy Melio at the Maine Community Foundation by phone, toll-free, at (877) 700-6800, or by e-mail at cmelio@mainecf.org.

Waldo County Committee

Chip Curry, Chair, Belfast

Mary Leaming, Vice Chair, Unity

Matthew C. Curtis, Belfast

Jean English, Lincolnville

Brenda Harrington, Montville

Kevin Johnson, Belfast

Martha Piscuskas, Liberty

Molly Schauffler, Northport

Betty Schopmeyer, Searsport

Jon Thurston, Searsmont