Hancock County Fund

Total applications received in last grant cycle: 72 applications for a total of $540,260
Grant dollars awarded: $154,122
Average award: $5,504
Percentage of applicants that received grants: 39%
Number of grants awarded: 28
Additional grant dollars awarded through donor-advised fund referrals: $33,319
Application deadline: February 15

Recent grants from the Hancock County Fund 

Photo: The Hancock County Committee from left in front, Jay Horschak, Alice Wilkinson, John Paul LaLonde, and Karen Stanley. In back, Ken Perrin, Geoff Young (chair), Jane Donnell and Sherry Streeter (vice chair). Not pictured: Mary Blackstone, Frank Dorsey, and Lauri Fernald. Photo Jen Haslam

Established in 2001 with two anonymous gifts, the Hancock County Fund provides permanent support to nonprofits in the region. Overseen by an advisory committee of local community leaders who partner with the foundation to build charitable resources in the region, the Hancock County Fund has awarded more than 100 grants since its inception.

The Maine Community Foundation manages the Hancock County Fund, and local leaders, knowledgeable about their communities, help review grant applications and distribute funding.

Other ways the community foundation is serving the region

  • Currently the foundation holds more than $13.5 million in assets dedicated to Hancock County in the form of donor-advised funds, scholarships, designated funds to support specific organizations, and field-of-interest funds.
  • In addition to grants through the Hancock County Fund, more than $405,000 in additional grant support for Hancock County nonprofits has come from a network of Maine Community Foundation donors in support of proposals submitted to the foundation’s competitive grant programs.
  • Hancock County Scholarships
  • The community foundation manages more than $8.7 million in charitable long-term funds on behalf of other nonprofit organizations throughout Hancock County.

To make a donation or for more information about the Hancock County Fund

Please contact Cathy Melio of the Maine Community Foundation by phone, toll-free, at (877) 700-6800, or by e-mail at cmelio@mainecf.org.

Hancock County Committee

Geoff Young, Chair, Seal Cove

Sherry Streeter, Vice Chair, Brooklin

Mary Blackstone, Ellsworth

Alyne Cistone, Mount Desert

Jane Donnell, Bucksport

Frank Dorsey, Franklin

Lauri Fernald, Mount Desert

Jay Horschak, Gouldsboro

John Paul LaLonde, Bucksport

Ken Perrin, Ellsworth

Sara (Sally) Stone, Brooksville