Androscoggin County Fund

Total applications received in last grant cycle: 15 applications for a total of $132,090 in requests
Grant dollars awarded: $35,000
Average award: $5,833
Percentage of applicants that received grants: 40
Number of grants awarded: 6
Application deadline: February 15

Recent grants from the Androscoggin County Fund

Photo: Current and former members of the Androscoggin County Committee include René Dumont, Marguerite Stapleton, and Candace Sanborn (front) and Chris Delamater, Mike Burke, Holly Lasagna, Sarah Davis, and Dale Morrell.

The Androscoggin County Fund was launched in 1999 with a matching gift from Androscoggin Savings Bank. The fund's advisory committee awarded initial grants to the Greater Androscoggin Humane Society, Hilltop Community Gardens, the Abused Women’s Advocacy Project, and other nonprofits in the region.

Since that time, the Androscoggin County Committee has awarded more than $241,000 in grants. The committee is made up of local community leaders who partner with the foundation to build charitable resources to serve the region.

Funding priorities

The Androscoggin County Committee prefers proposals that, among other factors, seek to build social capital by fostering community connections and engaging people in their communities. It is particularly interested in supporting projects incorporating the following:

  • Building community connections, especially among diverse groups
  • Broadening and diversifying leadership and involvement in communities, and assisting communities in developing processes that encourage rather than discourage civic involvement
  • Increasing trust, especially across lines of difference
  • Encouraging people to do more with others rather than just for others.

Other ways the community foundation is serving the region

  • Currently the foundation holds more than $1.9 million in assets dedicated to Androscoggin County through donor-advised funds, scholarships, designated funds to support specific organizations, and field-of-interest funds.
  • In partnership with Harvard University's JFK School of Government and the University of Southern Maine’s Lewiston-Auburn College, the foundation participated in a study to measure levels of social capital in Lewiston and Auburn (social capital refers to levels of civic engagement and trust that exist within a community).
  • Scholarships for Androscoggin County students
  • The community foundation manages more than $3.4 million in charitable long-term funds on behalf of other nonprofit organizations throughout Androscoggin County.

To make a donation, or to learn more about the Androscoggin County Fund

Please contact Laura Lee, senior program officer, by phone, toll-free, at (207) 412-0838 or by e-mail at

Androscoggin County Committee

René Dumont, Chair, Auburn

Alice Mogensen, Vice Chair, Auburn

Michael Burke, Auburn

Chris Delamater, Lewiston

Muhidin Libah, Lewiston

Dale Morrell, Lewiston

Betty Robinson, Auburn

Marguerite Stapleton, Minot

Shawn Yardley, Lewiston